NC Math Team Takes Third Place
Nationally at 2011 American Regions Math League

Thirty-five of North Carolina's sharpest high school mathematics students recently competed in the 36th Annual American Regions Mathematics League (ARML) Meet in Athens, Ga. ARML is the only on-site national mathematics competition in the U.S. There were one-hundred-six teams representing 40 states from the U.S., as well as international teams from Singapore, China, and Macua, participating in this year's competition.

The North Carolina "A1" team captured first place at their regional site and placed third overall in the combined nation rankings. Raleigh resident Calvin Deng, a rising junior at the N.C. School of Science and Mathematics from W.G. Enloe High School in Raleigh, NC, earned the 3rd place overall individual ranking in the nation. Deng earn his spot on the N.C. team by finishing first at the 2011 N.C. State High School Mathematics Contest in April.

This year's participation is a continuation of North Carolina's outstanding ARML track record. The N.C. team won the ARML meet in 2006, and is the only team in the nation to place in the top 10 every year from 2006 to 2011.

Coaching this year's team were Archie Benton, North Buncombe High School, Weaverville; John Noland, Cary Academy; Ken Thwing, Freedom High School, Morganton; Philip Rash, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM), Durham; Jeff Lucia, Providence Day School, Charlotte; and Kathy Hill, Athens Drive High School, Raleigh.

"These coaches, under the leadership of Archie Benton, have become an outstanding team at training and identifying the best math students in North Carolina," said Jim Beuerle, co-chair of the State Mathematics Competition.

North Carolina's "A1" Team included: Jeffrey An, Green Hope High School, Cary; Michael An, Davis Drive Middle School, Cary; Calvin Deng, Enloe High School, Raleigh; Brendan Fletcher, home-school, Charlotte; Zijing Gao, Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill; Christine Hong, J.H. Rose High School, Greenville; Jason Liang, Enloe High School, Raleigh; Thomas Lu, Early College at Guilford, Greensboro; David Lucia, Providence Day High School, Charlotte; Sammy Luo, RJ Reynolds High School, Winston-Salem; Elizabeth Shen, South Mecklenburg High School, Charlotte; Gray Symon, Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill; Nick Tobey, NCSSM, Raleigh; Yu Wang, East Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill; and Allen Yang, Cary Academy, Cary.

The following students were on the "A2" Team or were alternates: Timothy Chang, Early College at Guilford, Greensboro; Yimo Chen, Early College at Guilford, Greensboro; Franklin Chen, Ligon Middle School, Cary; Angela Deng, Carnage Middle School, Raleigh; Jeffrey Dudek, Cary Academy, Cary; Parker Garrison, home-school, Charlotte; David Hemminger, Sanderson High School, Raleigh; Kavi Jain, Myers Park High School, Charlotte; Kevin Lee, Providence Day High School, Charlotte; Tony Li, Raleigh Charter High School, Raleigh; Marshall Lochbaum, Raleigh Charter High School, Raleigh; Justin Luo, Enloe, Cary; Jack Munley, Providence Day High School, Charlotte; Peter Ruhm, Early College at Guilford, Greensboro; Amitoj Singh, Enloe High School, Cary; Tejas Sundaresan, Enloe High School, Cary; Yujian Tang, Ligon Middle School, Raleigh; Eric Wang, Early College at Guilford, Greensboro; Lisa Zheng, NCSSM, Raleigh; and Constance Zhou, Charlotte Latin High School, Charlotte.

The "A2" Team consists of younger, less-experienced students and who would normally compete in the "B" Division; however, since the North Carolina "B" Team has scored so high in recent years, it was required to compete in the A-Division this year, placing 26th nationally.

"We continue to be extremely proud of our North Carolina students - and their coaches - for the extraordinary job they have done representing our state on a national level," said Sam Houston, CEO of the N.C. Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education Center.

About ARML

The ARML Meet, which originated in the New England states, has grown to include four sites across the nation: Penn State University, The University of Iowa, the University of Nevada (Las Vegas), and the University of Georgia. The meet, which consists of four rounds, is conducted simultaneously at all four sites. Three of the rounds are team rounds, including a Power Question, the Team Questions, and Relays. There is one Individual Round. Awards are given for each site and for overall national winners.

The North Carolina ARML teams are sponsored by the North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics with generous support from the Duke Energy Foundation.

For additional information, please visit (N.C. State High School Mathematics Contests), (American Mathematics Contests), and (ARML).